Need help now?

My teens don't talk to me about anything. They have no role models.

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Casual scribe
catnap

I'm not technically separated, but live in an extremely dysfunctional situation due to my partner's abusive behaviour, where we're basically not separated not together. That's whole other story and for a different forum I think. 

I thought someone on here might have some ideas / insight into anything I can do to encourage my teens to view talking as a normal thing that people do even if they don't see it at home? Before covid hit things weren't too bad as their dad was at work in the city all day and we would eat dinner each night before he got home. My eldest has always been very rude and disrespectful towards me and her siblings - copying her dad I suspect. Dinners did have a lot of me asking her to stop calling her siblings names, putting them down etc, but at least there was conversation. When covid hit their dad started to work from home and suddenly our 2 nights of awkward dinners became 7. Anything I talked about he would dismiss or attack me. There was a lot of raging that the kids witnessed. Another tactic was for my eldest to make some nasty comment to me putting down my perspective - like "oh did you read that on your facebook mums group" and he would join in her derision of me laughing. Another tactic was to encourage them to think that I have favourites. Or he would just roll his eyes when I talked, talk over me etc. It was so exhausting and upsetting to hear his nasty words come out of my children's mouths that I pretty much fell silent.