Need help now?

TW: Suicide 14 yo, physiologist legal responsibility

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Scribe
hoelscher

Hi All,

I'm new to this, I have a 14 yo daughter who is self harming and has confided in me about her suicide attempts, on a handful of occasions. She regularly states that she wants to kill herself. She asked me in confidence to keep it a secret from her father and anyone.  I told her I would give her the opportunity to tell her father that she lives with 50% of the time. However, after the week of being with him she refused to tell him and said she would never. 

I since found out that the psychologist (4 years into her profession so not fully qualified) that she sees (approx 5 appts now) knew about the self harming and suicide attempts. 

When I told the psychologist about it, she said she knew about it but hadn't informed neither me or her father.  What is her legal responsibility to inform one or both parents?  I live in Queensland, Australia.

Thank you for your time.

Contributor
Sophia-RO

Re: Suicide 14 yo, physiologist legal responsibility

Message contains a hyperlink

Hello @hoelscher I am sorry to hear about what you are going through at the moment. It sounds like things are really tough for you. It sounds like you are really supportive of your daughter and have a good bond with her as she has confided in you and reached out for support. You mentioned that your daughter's psychologist had not informed you or your daughters father about your daughter's self harm or suicide attempts. Have you had the chance to discuss this directly with your daughter's psychologist and to express your concerns? Do you think having a discussion with your daughter and your daughters psychologist together would be helpful? 

Also, you mentioned that your daughter has self-harmed before and attempted suicide. I wanted to ask whether you have any concerns about your daughter's current safety?