Need help now?

How do you keep the connection strong?

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Prolific scribe
Ben-RO

As a fairly young person who is yet to make my own young person i have very little personal experience of parenting. However i was fortunate enough to have two pretty decent parents who i think did a a great job of raising me - which i assure you must have been a challenging task!

Something that i really appreiciate when i reflect on my childhood is the time my dad took to connect with me. Every month or so we'd head off somewhere to eat some tasty food and just talk, leaving my three (much louder) siblings behind. The moment of undivided attention and huge pile of tasty food helped me feel comfortable sharing some of the tougher stuff i went through in my childhood and teenage years and helped me reach adult life in one piece.

So I'm wondering: what do you do to connect with your child? What are the key ingredients in your relationship with your teen that keep the connection strong? Is it something that is intuitive for you? Or is it a conscious effort?

Contributor
readthemanual

Re: How do you keep the connection strong?

Good question, @Ben-RO.

When I studied early childhood development, I learnt about the attachment theory. When reflecting upon my relationship with my daughter, I confirm that when the attachment is both ways, it is always stronger.

I guess your question comes to the root questions:

why do we have child(ren)? who are our children? do we need our children as much as they need us?

and further to these questions:

how was our relationship with our parents? what are the things we charish most? was there a moment that we said to ourselves: if I am a parent, I would never do this to my children?

Constantly reflect our own feelings and experiences might help build and keep the connections stronger with our children.

New member? Introduce yourself here by answering our 5 question Q&A!
Super frequent scribe
HalleysComet