Need help now?

My 18 & 20 year olds are disrespectful & silent

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Active scribe
Hatrae2

I have a 18 year old son & 20 year old daughter.

They are great kids- can work hard, speak respectfully & kindly with confidence to other people, if they are asked to help someone they do their best, they are kind friendly kids to the extended family & mean as snot to me & their dad & younger siblings.

Oldest is getting married- We set a certain amount for wedding- she never said thank you, zero gratitude, if I ask her something she glares at me- no communication. If I joke around with her, she snaps at me- I feel like I've been walking on eggshells for about 8 months now with her IN MY OWN HOME!

My 18 year old son doesn't speak to us. He has a dream, he says he's working on it- so he studies a lot- he's not in school, he won't get a job, he won't buy a vehicle, because he's trying to get into real-estate, which he is doing- waiting on a appraisal, however, he stays in his room most always, doesn't speak much to us, says he can't learn from us, because he doesn't like how we are as he's trying to learn from millionaire real-estate guru's (which I've encouraged) but now it seems a little out of hand.

They both will do what we ask them to, but nothing on their own & they definitely hold bitterness & grudges. They say we don't understand their feelings yet they continue to treat us like crap.

Am I missing something? Any advice? Anyone else experienced the silent treatment & uglyness at this stage???
Contributor
Hannah-RO

Re: My 18 & 20 year olds are disrespectful & silent

Message contains a hyperlink

Hey @Hatrae2 

So sorry you're going through this, it would be very upsetting that both your children are behaving in this way. It would be horrible to feel like you're walking on eggshells in your own home. Do you think they have any awareness of how this behaviour is making you feel? Is this a conversation you could have with them?