Need help now?

New to parenting a teen-couple of questions

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Scribe
Sean89

Hello everyone. I'm very new to this. Not just the site but parenting in general. For two months now I (male 30) have taken in my younger sister. Let's call her M. She's 16. I'm her legal guardian now. Long story involving a mother struggling with addiction all of our lives and the same bio father who has been in and out of our mother pants for years but always completely out of the picture regarding us (me and my sister). I moved out of the house when I was 18 and have just now managed to get my life together and be able to support M..
With the big age gap and our **bleep**ty home life before we never got really close, but our mom is completely out of it now and I couldn't stand not taking the kid in. I love her, I just don't really know her yet.
Things have been a bit awkward. We've been living together for two months now. I try to do things with her so that we actually start having an actual relationship, but it's hard to keep balance between being a parent figure and a brother.

I've set down some rules for her. Nothing too much. A curfew (different for weekdays and weekends so that she can have some more fun on weekends), some priority rules like homework before going out... She has some house chores but I'm doing most so that she has time to focus on homework and actually enjoy some free time too. I expect her to let me know where she's going when she leaves the house and with who she is. Also we have just one car, mine, and of course I expect her to ask for permission if she wants to borrow it.

So first question... Do these sound reasonable? Do I need to add more? Are they too strict? I literally have no idea if I'm doing this right.