Need help now?

Teens just not listening - the frustration !

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Teens just not listening - the frustration !

Super frequent scribe
AeroGirl

Re: Teens just not listening - the frustration !

Hi @Beingme2017 . Welcome @Lidya.

I know what you mean! Sometimes it's those minor things that can be so frustrating.

Like for me, it's the same thing every friday night: "put all your dirty school clothes in the wash basket." I've been saying this for the past 10+ years but do they listen?! no. (I'm sure we're not the only household having this discussion!?!)

then I realised that I was getting more stressed out about it than they were. so I just left it. if they don't want clean clothes or have any school socks to wear on Monday, so be it. (but sometimes I would still go chasing and getting their clothes).  I find it tricky. I guess some things we have to decide what's worth pursuing and what's not.... what do you think?

Highlighted
Star contributor
TOM-RO

@AeroGirl Have had similar encounters with endless unwashed items next to the kitchen sink with my youngest brother.. Sigh! I think you're onto something. The amount of energy we expend in pursuing them to listen and execute a task can be more trouble than it's worth for our own mental health.

I wonder what is an out of the box strategy? My grandmother used to pull the ol' "hide all the dishes" until I I realised the importance of cleaning them when I was a teen (as a result I had nothing to eat my toast off every morning!) I learnt fairly quickly. I wonder if there's an effective way of showing our adolescents the importance of learning these tasks for themselves..?

Contributor
motherbear