Need help now?

Where do i start

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Scribe
mumwithfaith

Where do i start

I am new to reachout.com today. I need help with my youngest teen. I am a single full-time carer of two teenage boys (their father has not been in their lives for 6 years). The eldest who is 17 doesn't cause me very much grief at all, my youngest 16-year-old son is pushing every extreme and has been for the last 18 months. From stealing at the local shop so many times the police were involved to drinking and smoking pot and now cigarettes. I'm walking on eggshells around this kid. When he gets angry he breaks things and trashes the house. He was caught on the phone bragging about smoking pot with a friends mother 2 weeks ago and punched the desk and broke his hand. His friends are now encouraging him to run away and at 3 am this morning I discovered he had left the house. He admitted he had been doing it for 5 nights already and that he was at a girls house. He has done this before too. His mates are starting to have sex and many of his friend's parents supply alcohol and probably pot and cigarettes too. He likes to put on an act that we are poor and like he doesn't get things when in reality I may not have much but he has everything he needs and wants. People even give him money. I have no idea what he says about his brother and me to achieve these scams. its how he pays for his drugs and alcohol unless he is stealing money or alcohol I had in the house for cooking. I don't drink or do any drugs. I don't smoke. I'm very reclusive as going out costs money and id rather make sure my kids have what they need. I've hit a brick wall. He is about to start year 11 at school and he is going downhill fast but he use to be a great kid, he has always been quiet and isn't into sports or any team activities. He like electronics and guitar and piano. I try to encourage these things. His older brother has never done any of these things. I myself was homeless by the