Need help now?

New "Stepmom"

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Casual scribe
Lonely

New "Stepmom"

Hello,

I am new to this whole step parent thing. I have a boyfriend who has an 11 year old son when i met him his child was 8 my boyfriend works out of town and is gone 5 days a week so they lived with his parents and they basically raised his son who he has full custody of because his mom is a drug user and a narcist   who only comes around when she wants to. Being raised by such people and bounced around most of his life he was not raised with any routine discipline or help for his disorders. His Grandmother labeled him with ADHD and he has an IEP at school however nothing was being done to help him grow with it and he was allowed to do whatever he wanted. When meeting new people you don't actually know them until you live with them for about a year then all the stuff comes out of the closet plus we were only able to do family dating so never really forming a connection before we became a "family". They have now lived with me for 2 years and in such time we have had a child of our own that comes with its own set of challenges not only do i have to care for and raise our new baby but also for a very confused now 11 year old and take care of everything around the house (laundry, meals, renos, basement floods etc..  plus still part time working and running a family business plus doing it all though covid and my boyfriend needs me to make all his appointments and his schedule while he works 40 hrs a week in Toronto.