Need help now?

I'm very new to Suicide. Please help!

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Active scribe
Just-WantToHelp

I came across this site whilst looking for answers. I will keep it brief but some help and guidance would really go along way..  I have 2 children of my own however this is not about my kids.  My boyfriend and I have been together a while and he has 2 teenage daughters.  We do not live together. Everything was going fine until 2 weeks ago when his eldest daughter, 15 years old, tried to commit suicide.  He has sole custody of both girls.  I can very much understand the trauma that this creates for the girls.  My boyfriend now is experiencing extreme guilt and has shut me off to spend time with the girls.  Now while I understand the reason for it and they need him 100%, he is very sad and withdrawn and I just want to make them all feel better.  I want to look after him so he can look after his girls.  I don't know if anything I do will make things better or worse.  I really just want to hear from others who have been through it that it will get better and what my place in all this should be.

Star contributor
Breez-RO

Re: I'm very new to Suicide. Please help!

Message contains a hyperlink

Hey there @Just-WantToHelp no doubt this is very traumatic and taxing on yourself emotionally as well as your partner. Is the eldest Daughter receiving support for the suicide attempt in the form of counselling etc? Has your partner considered therapy as well? I would recommend also giving SCBS a phone call, they're really good at supporting loved ones who need further strategies around helping families manage suicidal ideation and attempts. There's also Kids Helpline who can be a great resource for parents and partners. We're also here to listen Heart I will tag some members for you too.

What do you do for yourself in the way of self care?

@sunflowermom @taokat @Orbit64

Active scribe
Just-WantToHelp