15yr old daughter refusing to speak to me for 6 months now

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Highlighted
Active scribe
Annco

Hello,

This is my first time here. I am a stay at home mother of 4, ranging from 9-15yrs. Boys and girls. My eldest, super smart, super athletic, super persistent at whatever she takes up, has now refused to speak to me for about 6 months, unless it is absolutely necessary. She comes from a loving, very normal family. She has never wanted for anything, I have put myself out so much to facilitate her and her siblings sports/academic/friend needs and wants. We are relatively 'strict' parents, in that the children don't always get what they want when they want it, but eventually either through saving or earning through actions, they are not left behind their friends (usually). We do have rules, but they are not at all unreasonable; chores, device use (a constant cause of nagging!) and the like. She seems to have come under the influence of a 'friend' at school and my husband and I believe that our daughter is struggling with her sexuality. Neither of us are in any way judgemental of anyone based on there sexual leanings, I have a best friend and a cousin who are gay (but we don't live in the same country) but our daughter will not talk to us about this. She is now living a life of deceit and I am now forced to spend my time contacting her teachers to see if she has turned up at school when she heads there early for whatever special class she tells us the school is running. She outright lied to us both yesterday and today as I have found out that neither class was being held. She has lied to us in the past but seems to have upped it recently. My husband has tried talking to her but he gets pushed out of her room, she refuses to speak to him about anything, but at least she is more open to talking to him (just not about anything to do with her actions). Her behaviour in the house is unbearably rude and totally disrespectful and it is ha