Need help now?

14 year old daughter distressed

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Casual scribe
MotherOfOne

14 year old daughter distressed

Hi, this is my first time on here.. today at work I got a call from the Emergency Dept (I work in the hospital as well) to day my daughter had been brought in by ambulance, after having harmed herself, then calling for help.
Background info is of course more complex, but just for context, she has had very little to do with her dad since birth as he had mental health issues and drug addiction. He committed suicide Christmas eve of 2019. A couple of months prior to his death he asked to see her and she had declined as didn't know him and the visit prior to that was awful, he was drunk and not interested in spending time with her really at all. He was inappropriate with me and the whole event was just so negative.
She is now blaming herself for his suicide, or feeling like if she had said yes to seeing him he may not have ended his life.
She is also feeling excluded at school by her friends, her closest friend just got a boyfriend and is never available to hang out anymore, or if she does is mostly buried in her phone texting the boyfriend.
She is also questioning her sexuality, feeling like she might be bisexuality or maybe gay.
I want to support her as best I can but I am also traumatised by my own life, the loss of her dad, working full time shift work in order to pay 2 mortgages on my own. We need help, but finding support in a small town with most psychologists charging a large gap fee and not accepting new patients due to overload..

Prolific scribe
Portia_RO

Re: 14 year old daughter distressed

Message contains a hyperlink