Need help now?

Drug induced psychosis

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Scribe
Megstar24

Drug induced psychosis

Hi
I'm new to this. My daughter has suggested I give it a go as I'm at my whits end. My 31 year old son is suffering from drug induced psychosis. I'm constantly in tears watching him. He doesn't think there is anything wrong so won't take medication. He is currently living in a flat in supported housing. I don't seem to get anywhere with the professionals despite me constantly being on the phone to them. He has been assessed a few times but manages to mask over it. He is getting worse as the days go on. He sees things that aren't there and thinks nothing of walking the streets with no shoes on. He won't use a mobile as the people are listening in. He ended up 200 miles away last week and didn't know why he was there so I had to get him back. The things he is coming out with are unbelievable. Surely something should be done to hospitalise him ?
Super frequent scribe
Dem--RO

Re: Drug induced psychosis

Hi @Megstar24 

Thank you for reaching out on the Parents Forum, please know that you are not alone and that we are here to listen.

I'm so sorry that this is happening, and it's understandable that you are in tears and very upset by the situation. It is clearly very distressing, and in addition to your son needing support, you also need some support and we want to ensure that you are ok.

Engaging with the professionals seems like a good first step but if you don't feel that you're getting anywhere, have you looked at other resources? I'll send you an email with some additional information, so please keep an eye out for that.

Active scribe
LeeBelle