Need help now?

Disrespectful Step son

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Scribe
Halogirl85

Disrespectful Step son

Hello! So I have a 17 yr old step son soon to be 18 in a few months who has been disrespectful since the day we met till now. I met his mother about 8 years ago when he was 9. We met through work at one of our small retail grocery stores and we connected instantly as friends. Knowing she was still married and being friends not intentionally wanting to be more then friends. I was also in a relationship at the time but it wasn’t really working, so we both confided in each other cause we were having problems in our relationships. Long story short my friend ended up divorcing her husband and was starting to fall for me. We were friends for 5 years nothing more. I am also a Zumba instructor and she soon became one too which was way more fun when there’s more then 1 instructor in the class. Anyways, I met her son when he was 9. While she was going through the divorce with her husband (he already moved out of the house for months) I had moved in to her house knowing I was welcome there by both her and her son at first. So now her ex husband didn’t contribute anything to their son. He was only being a parent when it was convenient for him. He was absent for more then 20 days into the school year because his dad was too lazy to take him to school. He’s get up late and he just told his son to stay home. Mind you he thought he could pull that with me but it didn’t happen. Education is at the top of my list cause education for children is important. He hated being in school never even wanted to be there so he was missing out on a lot. Eventually after a year of trying and encouraging him to go to school he finally gave in and now loves school. My step son also has reading comprehension dyslexia. And he’s supposed to read everyday he did now he does not. I have provided for this kid from the day I stepped into the house. (Not spoil him he did have to earn