Need help now?

Depressed teen: I cannot cope with it anymore

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Highlighted
Active scribe
keladeine

I'm in need of support, I desperately need someone to hear me. I feel lost, lonely and completely guideless in a world I have no experience. I need more support than advice, so please be kind.

My 16 yo was diagnosed with anxious depression a year ago. School called me because he told he had suicidal ideations, and he wasn't delivering a single homework or assignment task. Mind you this kid is very academically talented.

I did everything I could. I called dozens of places to find him a psychologist in less than 2 months, a psychiatrist, we contacted school support, I called every single school department, I created all this support network around him.

And since then, he consistently lie. Just lie, every single day that he's doing homework, that everything is fine. There were about a DOZEN TIMES since then we discovered he just refuses to do anything because 'he doesn't see the point'.

He's now saying that he doesn't ever want to work, because it's too much effort and he prefers to be homeless and die. He doesn't try to improve. He doesn't try to do any homework. He doesn't try to do anything that brings joy. He doesn't attempt to do absolutely anything.

Anything.

A year of lies. A year of emotional labour to micromanage every single school task. A year.

He submitted an EMPTY assignment, just to persist on the lie.

He doesn't seem to care about me, about his brother, about anyone. He says he likes being grounded, but then he just spend the whole school day (remote) on youtube.

He came up with the idea that inside his head there are 16 different 'goblins', each one with a personality, gender, and wants. And every decision and sentence he just blame the **bleep** goblins.

No accountability. No responsibility. He just doesn't do anything. He doesn't cry. He doesn't express a single emotion.