Need help now?

16 year old son - is it time for him to finish up at school?

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

16 year old son - is it time for him to finish up at school?

Super star contributor
taokat

Re: 16 year old son - is it time for him to finish up at school?

Hi @lucille, I have to say your son sounds amazing, and he is lucky to have such caring and aware parents. 

My daughter is 15, and we had huge problems with school really since 4th grade. Social issues. She finally started with distance ed which she manages, but just wants leave school altogether. 17 is the age here in NSW. She is smart, and writes poems and short stories and has created her own minecraft server, coded and programmed everything, all self taught. She just gets bored with the curriculum.

I think @Ngaio-RO has offered you the best advice based on your situation. I understand distance ed wasn't the right path for him, and we are looking at other Pathways for next year, and TAFE is the one my daughter is looking at. She's been out of school for nearly 18 months now, and I have to say she did lose most of her school friends, but 2 have stuck by her and they are very close. Your son's best friends will stick with him. 

You've taken away any shame by talking about it openly with others which is just fantastic. As Ngaio said, often leaving 'early' comes with a negative connotations which can be damaging to our kids mindset. Often leaving school is the best thing, so why not celebrate it and acknowlege the achievements made?