Need help now?

New member? Introduce yourself here!

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

New member? Introduce yourself here!

Contributor
Sophie-RO

Re: New member? Introduce yourself here!

Message contains a hyperlink

Hey guys, would love to hear what you think about this webinar idea - click this link for more info. Reply to the thread to let me know. Cheers!

Contributor
Sophie-RO

Hello to new members @SparkyMark and @Cogan - tell us more about why you are here on RO Parents?

Would love to know\
1. How old are your kids and what is one thing they've done recently that made you laugh?
2. Parenting can be really stressful - how do you try to keep those stress levels down?
3. What led you to ReachOut Parents today?
4. Whats your top tip for parents whose kids are about to enter teenage years?
5. Whats the best thing about weekends?

Cheers
Active scribe
Sadie

Hi, I'm a p/t student with 3 children - 18, 17 and 12. I homeschool my 12 year old as well. I'm here because my eldest daughter has recently been diagnosed with major depression, just looking for tips and support in being a support to her.
Contributor
Mitzi

Message contains a hyperlink

Hi @Sadie and welcome to ReachOut Parents. It can feel overwhelming to be told that our child (at whatever age) has a serious illness. We are an open and supportive bunch, with experience in many areas of helping our teenagers deal with the challenges of this stage of their lives.

For some advice to help with your eldest, try this link on supporting a teenager with depression.

Super frequent scribe
AmyJay

Hello Sadie! Welcome. What are you studying? It is wonderful to see you here. What strategies has your daughter used to help with her depression? AmyJay

New member? Let us know what's on your mind by Starting a New Topic here. Or replying to one here.

Active scribe
Sadie

Thanks Mitzi, will check out the link.
Highlighted
Active scribe
Sadie