Need help now?

Is walking 2 hours home from school reasonable?

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Parent/Carer Community Champion
PeteNorthside

So I am new to all this and new partner's 16 yo son walked 2 hours to get home from school yesterday. Son does not live with us and has lived with mum for a couple of years now. Usually there is minimal discussion and a hostility over any parental involvement, but now things have been falling apart for son and it is quite difficult to know how to navigate things. 

Crux of the problem is that 16 year old son had the option to call partner and get picked up but decided not to. Son does not reply to smses and calls either, so there is a sense of helplessness which is difficult to deal with. There has been a refusal from mum to provide any regular information and prevented any decision making for crucial issues like medical and education issues for many years now. Seems likely there is anything that can be done, but appreciate to be able to just vent here.

sidneysdad

Re: Is walking 2 hours home from school reasonable?

Always good to be able to vent, especially to strangers who wont take it personally.No particular pearls of wisdom for you but keep posting your thoughts and needs,because there are some pretty wise people on this site.When i was a angst ridden troubled teen I would slip out the bedroom window and walk from midnight to dawn, unknown to my parents. The solitude of a long walk was very beneficial to me at the time, really helped to reduce my anxiety, but i confess i was cactus in class those days.

Highlighted
Star contributor
Janine-RO

Hey @PeteNorthside ,