Need help now?

Where do l go from here

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Frequent scribe
lucille

Re: Where do l go from here

This is such good advice from @motherbear.  I have been terribly fearful about our 16 year old son finishing school.  I am a teacher and he is our only child and I guess I just fell into the trap of thinking that he had to finish school at all costs.  I've had 3 weeks of adjusting now and I'm feeling a little better.  Still very sad about missing out on things like graduation, formal, last day with his peers etc.... but I don't want to project that sadness onto my son...that's for me to deal with and get help with.  Every time I start to panic or feel fearful I think of the self-harm that we saw 3 weeks ago and for us that was a big red flag. I remember how bad school was making him feel, how much despair he was in.  In the end we really had no choice, we feel school would have destroyed him.  My husband has found it easier to accept than me....which has surprised me as he comes from a very academic, high-achieving medical family.  I feel as though we are learning and adjusting every day.  This parent forum has really helped me to accept that there are other ways. All the best and I'm happy to chat anytime.  It is SO good to have other parents to talk to who understand what is going on.

Frequent scribe
lucille