Need help now?

Daughters boyfriend is not that nice... Any suggestions?

Discussion forum for parents in Australia

Daughters boyfriend is not that nice... Any suggestions?

Super star contributor
taokat

Re: Daughters boyfriend is not that nice... Any suggestions?

I will respectfully disagree with you on your first sentence @Zoesplace Smiley Happy  I think once we've lived it, and remained aware through the process, we become experts, able to give others the benefit of what we've learned.

I think they drive us so crazy because we love them so much! I reckon we can all relate to that haha.

Frequent scribe
Snoopmum

hi @Zoesplace,

Well I am very late and this is my first time to write!!

Sorry to hear you are having these worries with your daughter and the boyfriend.  Such a worrying time when you can see that he is so wrong for her.  Sounds like you are on the right track and all I can think is how lucky she is to have such loving people around her to guide her.  You are clearly doing a fantastic job and it seems at she is actually listening to you and your husband.

I have a friend who son is in a very toxic relationship..he is a beautiful 16 year old boy who is in the grips a very stunning looking but completely self obsessed, needy and manipulative young woman.  My friend is so concerned but like you know she can only give a little gentle advise and tread gently.  I have felt tempted many times to knock her block off but it seems we all agree that in the end that is not the solution!

Have taken note of all the brilliant advise and the book.

Hope all works out.

Casual scribe
Lotuslifter

My daughter went through a lot of what you're describing with a boyfriend (blame, intentionally hurting her feelings). It was hard to hold back for sure. I saw verbally abusuve text messages from him and alternatively sweet and thoughtful letters/poems. Jeckyl and Hyde from one day to another.
We did talk - she said he didn't mean it..